Maharashtra political crisis: SC puts disqualification on hold, rebel ministers lose wallets — Top updates

In a relief to rebel Shiv Sena’s MLAs, the Supreme Court on Monday suspended the disqualification process for the vice-chairman of the Maharashtra legislature until July 11 and sought answers to pleas from rebel lawmakers who questioned the legality of notices declaring their disqualification. asked to question.

However, the highest court refused to issue an interim order on the Maharashtra government’s plea that there should be no floor test in the Assembly and said they cannot always approach it in case of illegality.

A vacation bench of judges Surya Kant and JB Pardiwala ordered the government of Maharashtra to protect the lives, freedom and property of 39 rebel Shiv Sena MLAs and their relatives.

Rebel leader Eknath Shinde called the relief of the highest court for him and other dissidents the victory of Bal Thackeray’s Hindutva and the ideals of his mentors Anand Dighe.

Meanwhile, Prime Minister Uddhav Thackeray has robbed nine rebel ministers camped in Guwahati of their wallets. An official statement said the portfolios of these ministers have been transferred to other ministers in the Thackeray-led government to facilitate governance.

After the uprising led by Eknath Shinde, the Shiv Sena now has four ministers including CM Uddhav Thackeray, Aaditya Thackeray, Anil Parab and Subhash Desai. Other than Aaditya Thackeray, the remaining three are MLCs.

Shinde’s portfolios – urban development and public enterprise – were given to senior Sena leader and state minister of industry, Subhash Desai.

The main portfolio of higher education, which was with Uday Samant, was given to Aaditya Thackeray.

The leadership of the water supply and sanitation department, which was with Gulabrao Patil, was handed over to Anil Parab.

The departments managed by Sanidpan Bhumre (employment guarantee and horticulture) and Dada Bhuse (agriculture and welfare of ex-servicemen) were given to Shankarrao Gadakh.

The portfolios of Minister of State Shamburaj Desai were assigned to Sanjay Bansode (Home-Rural) and Vishwajit Kadam (Finance, Planning and Skills Development).

MoS Rajendra Patil-Yadravkar’s portfolios were donated to Vishwajit Kadam (Public Health and Family Welfare), Prajakt Tanpure (Medical Education and Textiles), Satej Patil (Food and Medicine Administration) and Aditi Tatkare (Cultural Activities).

The portfolios of another MoS Omprakash Kadu (Bacchu Kadu), the leader of the Prahar Janshakti party, were allocated to Tatkare (school education), Satej Patil (water resources), Sanjay Bansode (development of women and children) and Dattatray Bharne (other backward class development).

In addition, several divisions of MoS Abdul Sattar were assigned to Tanpure (revenues), Satej Patil (rural development) and Tatkare (ports).

In the Sena-led tripartite Maha Vikas Aghadi (MVA) government, the Uddhav Thackeray-led party had 10 cabinet-level ministers and four state (MoS) ministers, including two from the Sena quota, before the uprising. All four MoS have joined the rebel camp in the Assam town of Guwahati.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *